The Board Welcomes Seven New Directors!


May 4, 2017

Hello fellow alumni,

We are pleased to welcome seven new Directors for the upcoming year.  We look forward to their participation!

  • Nicholas Bavaro ’85
  • Peter Boyce II ’08
  • Hal Diamond ’78
  • Kent Kim ’05
  • Anna Nikolayevsky ’88
  • Stuart Spodek ’88
  • Elina Tetelbaum ’03

We would like to thank the following Directors for their dedicated service to the Alumni Association as they step down from the Board this year.

  • Carl Hendricks ’75
  • Serphin Maltese ’51, JD
  • Josh Mohrer ’00
  • Robert Sherwood ’68

We are also pleased to announce the Board has elected Director Serphin Maltese ’51, JD by unanimous vote as Emeritus Director in recognition for his exceptional service to the organization.

In other news, a new Fundraising Drive was announced, to rename the Tribeca Bridge the Principal Baumel Bridge.  When the school was opened in 1993, there was no bridge to help students navigate crossing the West Side Highway.  Principal Abraham Baumel lobbied for the bridge to be built for the safety of his students.


  • Principal Eric Contreras (P’16) gave an update on the Innovation Maker Space being created at the school.  One of the donors assisting with the development of this space includes Irwin Zahn ’44.
  • The Allocations committee gave over $47,000 to the school through Speech & Debate, the Chess Club, Social Studies, Computer Science and Biology / Genetics.
  • StuyPrep will be moving forward with 3 classes this year for 75 students.  The program has embraced Kaplan as a test preparation service, consistent with the City of New York as it is used for the Dream program.
  • Reunions 2017 will be taking place on May 13th! Highlights include a presentation by the Stuyvesant College office on the changes in the application process today, as well as lunch, festivities, student performances and more.